Home » Education » Education in Courage

Education in Courage


This post is completely off topic for educational technology, but this news item completely hit me in my soft spot.

When I was in my 20’s I was reading the print copy of SI, it was the only copy back then, when I read about a female high school track runner who broke her leg 100 yards from the finish of her race. She was the anchor for the 4×400 relay in a state meet and was leading by a lot when she broke her leg. Not wanting to let her teammates down she crawled to the finish line.

That high school girl inspired me to do a lot of things. She showed me what loyalty, courage and guts were all about. I never thought I would see anything like it again in my lifetime, but I see it everyday in the news.

  • a 6 year old calling 911 to save her mothers life
  • the firefighters and police at the World Trade Center on 9/11 and the friend I lost in the Pentagon plane crash on that same day
  • a husband giving his life by setting out in snow and freezing weather to save his wife and daughters lives

Today I add another one to my list. This one is also a female high school cross country runner in her last high school race. She also breaks her leg and crawls to the finish line. The difference here is that we are in the Internet age where we have video and access to this personally. Watch the video, (11/23 – 2am – the video feed at FOX News is currently not working. Continue to check the URL to watch it when it comes back up.) listen to the young lady. If only our whole country had the courage and guts she shows on this video, what we could accomplish!

Technorati tags: , ,

5 Comments

  1. jethro says:

    The link does not work.

  2. Ray says:

    Thank you for the information. The link is to FOX News, where the problem is on their side with their URL or video feed. There is nothing that I can do about it, but that is the nature of linking to someone else’s information.

    Ray.

  3. Ed Darrell says:

    Here it is in a more manageable form from TinyURL:
    http://tinyurl.com/34ktb2

  4. [...] Good write up about it at Education and Technology alerted me to the story. Surprisingly to me, Ray Ebersole writes: When I was in my 20’s I was reading the print copy of SI, it was the only copy back then, when I read about a female high school track runner who broke her leg 100 yards from the finish of her race. She was the anchor for the 4×400 relay in a state meet and was leading by a lot when she broke her leg. Not wanting to let her teammates down she crawled to the finish line. [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow Education and Technology on WordPress.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

