2012 in Review

Posted: December 31, 2012 in Educational Technology, Holidays, WordPress, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for my blog for 2012. Of course this year I did not post as I did the year before because of working multiple jobs so my posts are down a lot from 2011 and hits are down almost 8,000. As I go into the New Year I plan on writing once a week. I am also going to try to write about things that are current in the technology field as they continue to be added to and developed within education.

My one other goal for the blog is to get more comments and grow a following based on education and new technology. I hope that everyone that does read my blog has a happy and healthy New Year.

Here’s a few excerpts:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 12,000 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 20 years to get that many views.

My Top Posts last year based on views:

  1. Evernote vs. Diigo – A Replacement for Delicious? December 2010
  2. Important Update: Verizon iPhone Does Voice and Data at Same Time  February 2011
  3. The secret to being good at Science: Take more Math classes July 2007
  4. 4 ActivBoards, A New Way To Teach? March 2007
  5. 5 Technology and Social Media is Destroying Humanity March 2011

Click here to see the complete report.

It is very interesting that none of the posts that I wrote last year made the the top 5, but there is a theme to these posts. All of the above posts are about a popular topic of the mass population which increased their popularity and visibility to the search engines. So, unless you really have a popular niche, you need to spice up your posts with things that the general public is currently interested in. I am going to revisit these posts to look for follow up topics, while looking at the popular current topics to try throw my spin on them from my expert opinion in technology support.

Comments
  1. Ray,
    Keep up the good work. Happy New Year!
    Bill

  2. betshopboy says:

    Happy New Year & keep blogging!