Home » Business » Are You Going to Fail?

Are You Going to Fail?


Success-Failure-SignI’ve talked about my career and it’s hiccup this past year when I had to get my degree to continue a career path at the ripe old age of 53. Yes, it took almost 38 years to go from graduating High School at 16 through the night classes from ECU at Cherry Point MCAS extension campus to the graduation from SCF in the summer of 2013.

Each step of the way after high school I found an excuse to not reach for great. To not do my best, to not get it done. In fact, lets be honest, I just didn’t want to put in the effort to do it. I was lazy and I will admit it. Working for the Sarasota County School Board I have always given my best. I made it to where I was last year because I had finally decided to work hard and stick with one thing and do it well. I thought that ┬ádoing a great job and being the best was good enough, but it wasn’t. I hadn’t paid the price of admittance, which is a college degree. The work, the proof that I could learn, I stayed with it to get the degree and went down the proper path.

When the department reorganized I had to do it. I had to make a decision of whether I wanted to be where I was or if I wanted to just go back to the easy career which was a dead end. Well, I obviously went back to school, took my four courses, made the Presidents List with straight A’s and graduated. I also got a position at the district level that is even more challenging than what I did the last 4 years and I get to tinker with cool technology. As an example, in the last week I worked with coworkers and vendors to finish moving our SharePoint implementation to the Big-IP F5 load balancer. It’s fun, we move a major application that all district employees use everyday from an ISA server implementation to the F5 for authentication and load balancing. I also learned how to code a mobile site, cool stuff!

I cared to follow my dream to do cool things, I didn’t say, “but”, or take the easy way out and take a step back. I am doing “Great.”

Enjoy the video below about Failing to get  that Great Job by Larry Smith from Ted Talks.

4 Comments

  1. Emily Stensland says:

    When I see language/spell check errors like this, “my career and it’s hiccup” I tend to think the article lacks credibility.

  2. Ray Ebersole says:

    I’m sorry that you can’t understand Emily, but there is nothing wrong with the spelling or the grammar in the context of what I am talking about. You should take the time to read the other posts about that hiccup in my career before thinking about the spelling or grammar that is perfectly fine.. It is my career and it was a hiccup, or bump in the road.

  3. Ray Ebersole says:

    Thanks Michael, if I had proofed more carefully I would seen that error, as I knew the difference. I ran it through more than one grammar checkers but they seem to miss the easy ones.

    I as you can tell it gets me mad when people pick at one piece of grammar, which really made little impact on the whole and was probably one of a few errors. It means they weren’t reading for the content at all anyway. If John Chow had ever been graded on his grammar and spelling he would not be the success he is today.

    I am not a professional author, my content is overall more important than a small apostrophe. Since I started reading your blog, I am a lot more careful with my grammar.

Comments are closed.

Follow Education and Technology on WordPress.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

