Service Desks Need Real Techs


One of the biggest problems with calling a tech support line or a customer support help desk is that the first call responders are not real tech support. They are most of the time not even in this country, which is a shame because companies try to save money by taking it out of the hands of the people who actually buy their products. Most of the time they are not trained in the product they are supporting and are paid on a per call basis so they try to get you off the phone as soon as they can.

Lastly, the one topic that really annoys me is they are reading a script! It’s not even their thoughts, they are reading from a manual of possible solutions. The reason I bring this last point up by itself is that it happened to me today as I was getting a case number to submit for a bad AMP on an ActivBoard. I called the company that we use for support on ActivBoards, announced who I was, the problem and that I was a certified ActivBoard installer. I explained the troubleshooting steps I had taken and that I had already installed a second AMP and that it was working properly with good sound coming from the speakers. After all this, the person I was talking to read off the script, asking me “Have you tried the AMP with a second power supply?”

Well duh, why would I considering I had removed it, put a new one in it’s place and the new one was working perfectly. When I pointed this out to him there was a slight pause and then he gave me the case number I needed to call in my service request for a replacement AMP from the local warehouse.

Being an IT Support Professional this really bothers me as it gives the whole profession a bad name. I work very hard to keep my teachers from having to worry about their technology, but instead keeping them focused on using that technology to teach our kids.

, ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

