Education in Technology

Posted on


I spend a lot of time reading Tech magazines, both PC and Mac. I also read a lot of RSS feeds each day, it’s called continuing education. But it still amazes me what people in my field don’t know or try to learn. Ray Kroc, the founder of the McDonalds Corporation once said, “When you’re green, you’re growing. When you’re ripe, you rot. Are you green and growing or ripe and rotting?”

I’m always trying to learn something new, break something and put it back together. You have to keep up with the technology or be left behind. Some people ask me why I share the information that I’ve learned with others that could make my job obsolete or replace me. I answer with a thought that I learned from a Chinese Proverb, “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” I’m giving them the ability to do for themselves, which frees me up  to learn more important things that keep me moving up the ladder. If you don’t have a good replacement, you can’t climb the ladder of success.

Keep learning, use new tools like Delicious for bookmarking answers to questions that you can’t store in your brain. Use Google, it has answers you wouldn’t believe. Use social media like Facebook, and Twitter. They are great sources of knowledge and networking.

I have a goal to not stand still in the same position for more than 5 years. I want to move up within the school district. Someday I want to lead the Technology Department. I’ll only get there by learning more, seeking knowledge and keeping those around me knowledgeable.

, ,

