Education in Spirit


I was reading about President Obama’s misstep on Jay Leno Thursday night and was moved by the following article from SI.com.

… obviously never met Kolan McConiughey, a mentally disabled man considered one of the nation’s top Special Olympics bowlers, with five perfect games to his credit. He’d like to go to the White House and show the president a thing or two about how to roll strikes.
Special Olympics bowler: I can easily beat Obama – SI.com

It never ceases to amaze me what we can do as people if we try. I have bowled since I was 10, carrying a 206 average the last time I bowled in a league. I have a 279 game, more than a few 700 series, but not what Mr. McConiughey has done. It is the human spirit, will and I feel humbled.

President Obama meant no harm with his statement. I believe that he has learned a valuable lesson and would learn even more if he invites Mr. McConiughey to visit the White House to bowl a line with him.

Education takes more forms than in a classroom or using technology.

,

Powered by ScribeFire.

