I'd Rather Have a Root Canal


We have all heard the horror stories about root canal’s. Pain, suffering, torture….the list goes on and on, which is where the title of this post comes from. Just stick anything that you don’t want to do in after “I’d Rather Have a Root Canal” and you get the meaning. Well, I had a tooth decide to fall apart last week and had to find a dentist. I haven’t been to a dentist in at least 20 years, mainly because of a bad experience when I was younger and decided to just brush and floss.

I found a dentist through one of my coworkers that had just had some similar work done and seemed no worse for wear the same day as the dental work was done. I made an appointment for the next day and showed up early to fill out paperwork. I was very nervous, preparing myself for the worst case scenario of a root canal. The nurse explained that they would probably need to do an exploratory drilling to see what the extent of the problem was after a quick xray. The dentist Dr. Mike Dorociak, said the same thing and that’s when I explained my fear and what I needed from him to go through with the procedure. I needed for him to talk to me through the procedure, which relaxes me knowing what they are doing. Dr. Dorociak told me that I would be numbed up real good and wouldn’t feel a thing, but if I did I just had to tell him and he would give me a booster.

Here is the gist of the whole reason for this post, there was no pain, even the injections were not felt. Dr. Dorociak and his nurse Kris (don’t know if it’s a C or K) were extremely understanding, helpful and made me feel totally at ease. As I said there was no pain, the pain afterward was just minor and normal for having any type of invasive surgery. I wasn’t at my best the next day, but it wasn’t like I had to call in sick, nor was it like the horror stories that I had heard.

I want to say that Dr. Dorociak has gained a patient for the rest of my life and a family with my wife and children. Anyone needing a dentist in the Sarasota, Venice, Bradenton area should strongly consider Dr. Dorociak.

Lastly,  I know that this is an Education and Technology blog but there are times that we need to step out of the box. Actually, relate this experience to using new technology or a new method of teaching with new technology. If you don’t give it a try, if you listen to what everyone is telling, if you don’t take a risk you are bound to stand still and possibly fail.

Dr. Mike Dorociak D.D.S
Lakeshore Village Plaza
3900 Clark Rd. Suite J5
Sarasota, FL. 34233
(941)-924-1100

, ,

2 thoughts on “I'd Rather Have a Root Canal

  1. Pingback: The Top of Edutechation | Education and Technology

Comments are closed.