Set a Goal and Reach It – Singapore Marathon 2009

Posted on


For a while now I have been following on Twitter and Facebook a gentleman in Singapore named Ng Chee Wee or on Twitter @betshopboy. He has a goal of running a marathon and set the Singapore Marathon 2009 as his place to run that marathon. Well, it’s coming in 5 days in my timezone, 4 in his and he is getting hyped up for this life changing step, or run.

It’s important that we work hard, set goals and milestones for those goals so that they become easier to achieve. No matter what you want in life, you should set goals, milestones and work toward fulfilling them. Write them down, paste them up on a wall that you see every morning when you wake up and when you go to bed. Talk is cheap, success is measured in what you do, not what you say you can do. A pad, and pen are not bad things for writing things down as you get ideas. A spreadsheet, a Word document, or some other electronic method is fine too. As Nike says, Just do it!

Good luck and congratulations my friend on completing you goal. I admire your hard work in the heat, rain, cold, morning and night to be able to run a marathon. To take the time as a father to do something that you wanted to while still being a father and husband is something that I want to accomplish.

Follow Chee Wee on Twitter @betshopboy.

, , ,

4 thoughts on “Set a Goal and Reach It – Singapore Marathon 2009

    betshopboy said:
    November 29, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Wow! Thanks for the encouragement and shoutout, I’m speechless…

    Like you mentioned in the post, talk is cheap and I haven’t walk-the-walk and run-the-run. I haven’t achieve my goal yet, you’ve flattered me with your kind words.

    Thanks again my friend, but I still don’t think I can tweet and run at the same time! 😀

      Ray Ebersole said:
      November 29, 2009 at 10:11 pm

      While I am a few days ahead in congratulations, I know you will succeed. I’m looking for a stream of the event so I can keep up with your progress. DO you know of one that I can hook into?

    Michael Kwan said:
    November 29, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    The question isn’t whether Betshopboy will finish running the marathon. The question is what is he running from? 🙂 I’m kidding, I’m kidding!

      betshopboy said:
      December 1, 2009 at 8:47 pm

      I’ve everything to run for, and nothing to run from. :evilgrin:

Comments are closed.