Christmas Vacation or Winter Break?


In the Public school system there is the use of the term “Winter Break” as to not offend anyone by saying Christmas Break/Vacation. Personally, I don’t care what you call it.

I celebrate Christmas and go to church on Christmas Eve. On Christmas Day I open presents with my family, watch the parade on TV, and eat a Christmas feast. It’s fun, it’s relaxing, I celebrate my religion and my family. I believe that the holidays are more than a religious occasion, they show us what we should be as people. What we should be to others, that we should not be at war with others, we should be at peace. Look not at the religion, but instead look at the underlying meaning. The holiday season should be an inner look at your family, your faith, your life.

Enjoy your family, your faith, yourself! Time on this earth is short, it will be gone before you have the time to see the real meaning of life. That is what the holidays are about.

I am going to enjoy my Christmas Vacation.

, ,

3 thoughts on “Christmas Vacation or Winter Break?

  1. Why would using “Christmas Break/Vacation” offend anyone?

    I grew up in a multi-religious society where many cultural and religious festivals are celebrated throughout the year, Christmas inclusive.

    So I don’t quite understand the relgious make-up of the population in US is based on tension and not tolerance?

    • I haven’t figured out why some groups need to protest the Christmas Vacation term, but that is just the way the the US society is. You can sue, you can argue and fight in court and they figure that it’s not equality by saying Christmas. On the other hand they also bring up the the separation of Church and State as another reason to drop the Christian term “Christmas”.

      I just think it goes against the whole meaning of this time of year. The bigger question I am asking here is “Why can’t we all get along?”

  2. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesdays: Happy Holidays « Beyond the Rhetoric

Comments are closed.