iPhone App Store vs Blackberry App World

Posted on


As my online friends know I switched to an iPhone for my personal use back in July 2009. I have enjoyed it very much since then except for AT&T’s poor overall 3G coverage. I have a Blackberry 8330 Curve as my work smartphone and I do enjoy using it for the Exchange Server email and the faster typing. The other day I decided to test an application install using the Blackberry App World and the iPhone App Store.

Before I get started I want to poll everyone to see what smartphone they are using.

[poll id=”8″]

I did the test in my dining room, next to a large Window hoping to give both units good coverage. I knew what was going to happen before testing, but I wanted to verify my knowledge with a hard test. I picked the Weather Channel Application as my app of choice for this test because I wasn’t using it on either phone. I actually use Accuweather on the iPhone for its ease of use over the Weather Channel app. I did the install on one device at a time and installed it twice on the iPhone using WiFi once and 3G the next time. The Curve 8330 doesn’t do WiFi and it doesn’t have 3G so I know there is some Oranges to Bananas comparisons here. Knowing this, I didn’t expect the Blackberry to beat the install time for the iPhone, but I also understood the results I did get for reasons I will explain later.

The iPhone loaded the App Store in just over 5 seconds, found the app in search in the time it took me to type “weath” and  the install took just under 30 seconds. I then started the app, let it GPS me and I was up and running the Weather Channel in less than a minute.

Now it was the Blackberry’s turn. Open the App World…….Open the App World…..Open the App World…. Well it took 3 minutes for the App World to open. The next thing was getting the Weather Channel downloaded….DL….DL….DL, which took 1 minute 22 seconds including the accepting of the http connections. I then launched the application and GPS’d myself. Total time to a running app on  the 8330 Curve? 4 minutes and 53 seconds for me to get the weather on the Blackberry.

Now, as I said above the Curve doesn’t do 3G or WiFi so I should expect it to take 2 minutes total time based on speed of service, not the almost 5 minutes it took to install the application. So lets look closer at why it took so long for my Blackberry to download and install the same application. I knew this answer before I started and I’ll let you in on it, the carrier for the Blackberry for some reason has a dead zone around my neighborhood. Anything except the signal for email I have to go outside and walk 100 feet from the buildings to get a clear connection. I have great reception on the iPhone no matter where I am at in this area so I knew it would install in a heartbeat via 3G and the WiFi was a no brainer.

Let us conclude with this gem that I have always lived by because of the math background I have. You can massage tests and data to be whatever you want them to be by how you read the numbers and administer the test. I could just as well have done this test at another neutral location and gotten closer results, or I know of a location that I can go to that the iPhone will be a complete epic fail and not install the app at all because once I get to the front door of this location I lose service on the iPhone, but not on the Blackberry.

Moral to the story? Never believe everything you read unless you have read a lot of different opinions from a lot of different sources that have not worked together to get their results. Mileage will vary depending on the end user. Both the Blackberry and the iPhone have positives and negatives. Whether you like one over the other is more a personal choice or a business one based on your needs.

I like both, my iPhone is great for a lot of thing, my blackberry is great for a lot of things. Which do I like better? Let me ask this, can we marry them both into one smartphone?

, ,

4 thoughts on “iPhone App Store vs Blackberry App World

    Michael Kwan said:
    January 21, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    As you mention, this is very much an apples and oranges comparison. To make a fair comparison, you’d want to use a BlackBerry Bold 9000 from AT&T. That way, the network is the same, the 3G is the same, etc. The only difference would be the phone/platform.

      Ray Ebersole said:
      January 21, 2010 at 11:32 pm

      Yep, the real point I wanted to make was that a lot of people do tests and don’t consider that, nor do they look at the data fairly. My statistics professor showed me how I could take data and make it look however I wanted to just by the way I presented it and massaged it to my point of view. I would never use a test like I did and believe it was fact.

    Stephen Fung said:
    January 22, 2010 at 1:44 am

    The 83xx series really wasn’t meant to be a phone of the app store era. It’s too slow for the install/uninstall of apps. But once installed, it’s fine, but the limited memory makes reboots an annoyance.

    My BOLD isn’t bad, but it isn’t as fast as the iPhone 3G for installation of apps. However, I tend to leave my phone alone once I have everything I need so it’s sort of moot.

    On the other hand, Michael Kwan witnessed my iPhone screwing up more than once simply trying to be a phone, whereas my BOLD was solid all week in Las Vegas. If a phone can’t be a phone first, the other stuff doesn’t matter me. To it’s credit, the Fart app and Tap Tap Revolution were fantasmic 🙂

    IF I had to pick another phone to play with right now, I’d pick a DROID. I’m drawn to it for some reason. If it had a good QWERTY, I’d be there in a heartbeat. Don’t really like the wide KB anymore now that I’ve gotten quick with the small and tight KB of the BB.

    […] Ebersole takes the top spot again for January. On his blog, he recently wrote a piece comparing the iPhone App Store and BlackBerry App World. Having all sorts of specialized applications on smartphones is quickly becoming the norm. […]

Comments are closed.