Holidays Mean Downtime


Because I work in a school district, the holidays mean almost two full weeks of no school or work. That is a lot of time that I have to my family and other stuff. It also means that I am not doing a lot with education or technology. Downtime means family time and you don’t want to hear about the 50 times my son asked me to read “Dora and the Mystery of the Missing Shoes” to him, or the time that I’ve spent playing with my daughter and her new 45” tall Doll house. I could tell you about the two hour drive around Sarasota we took to look at Christmas lights or the evening we spent seeing Santa and the lights at Jungle Gardens.

But, I will share with you the homemade cranberry sauce that I made with my son for the first time. I’ve made it every year for the last 3 years with my daughter and it’s now my son’s turn. My daughter loves to cook because my wife and I have spent the time to involve her. I started cooking because of the Galloping Gourmet Graham Kerr and my Aunt Harriet when I was 10 years old. That was an extremely happy time for me and I want to give that experience to my children. Camille has moved onto baking with my wife, but I hope to get her back into cooking main course food when she is a touch older. As for Andrew, he just wanted to jump in and help me prepare everything, put everything into the saucepan and stir it together before I moved it to the stove to cook. I enjoyed watching him light up and ask to help me. It has come full circle, I now know how my Aunt Harriet felt seeing me do something that she loved and was sharing with me.

I’m glad that she is still with me in my heart and memories so that I can share her with my kids. So that I know how to share with them and enjoy it.

