Share the Wealth of Your Knowledge

Posted on Updated on


In the tech support field there has always been a “don’t share what you know or you will be out of a job” mentality. I’ve never felt like that because I want my end users to be empowered to fix an issue that can be fixed in less than a few minutes with a few clicks or troubleshooting steps. The repetitive easy things you can make up a one page FAQ for will save you the time of walking out to or being on the phone with the end user. Those are the type of things that can fill up a day. Do you really want to do that or would you rather do something that is more challenging and will add to your knowledge base?

This little thing can also be applied to how you work with your peers. I want everyone to have the same knowledge that I do because if I want to move anywhere in my career I will need someone to do my job. I don’t need to answer all the questions, I don’t need to have all the answers. If you are the one everyone calls or emails you won’t have the time to learn new things, to grow.

“When you’re green, your growing. When you’re ripe, you rot.” – Ray Kroc

Who do you want to be?

