Back Online After Verizons Never Ending Automated Calls To Confirm


I have my Verizon FIOS back online today, which is great for the kids TV and great for me to use the laptop to surf and do my internet thing. But the house is about 1/3 put together and looks like a hurricane hit it. The family is also working through a cold, so we are all very tired, grump and under the weather.

A quick note on getting the Verizon back online: Why does Verizon have to call 4 times to confirm the appointment? The automated line called Wednesday, I confirmed by pressing the appropriate numbers on the iPhone keypad. 4 hours later the automated line called again to confirm the same appointment. Having nothing better to do other than eat dinner as I was packing boxes, I again hit the appropriate numbers to confirm. I figured there was a glitch, so I didn’t get too concerned or upset. On Thursday during a break in actually moving I got another call from the Verizon 800 number, but with no message, I called the number back and after 5 minutes navigating the Voice Menu prompts that didn’t give me a real person until I just stopped answering correctly. Once I got the real person, Walter, I asked why I was getting multiple calls to confirm an appointment that I had already done twice. His answer was, “I don’t know.” Just for giggles the automated line called me again on Friday during the evening hours.

At least the guy who set up the service was extremely capable and efficient. He did a very good job, was fast and what is really important to me, he was personable. His good personal attention to me as the end use was what made an annoying experience, one that had a pleasurable ending.

Technorati Tags: ,,
