Search Misconceptions and Answers

Posted on Updated on


I look at the data provided for my blog (Referring Links 99 Percent Useless) and I am amazed at some of the things that it reveals. The searches below are exact, which explains the punctuation and grammar. The answers are fact with some opinions based on those facts. The last search is one I get a lot because I have written on the topic more than once and I put it at the end because I wanted to elaborate without breaking the lists flow.

I have been watching search terms recently and I wanted to select a few and give some quick answers to either confirm or debunk some. These are in no particular order, except the last one as mentioned above:

  1. teachers are underpaid – YES
  2. will the Verizon iPhone do voice and data – NO it never will on a CDMA network
  3. boss reading my emails, iPhone – NO they can’t, but if you are using an Exchange Server they can read any email sent through the Exchange Server.
  4. can my boss wipe my iPhone – YES they can if you are using their Exchange Server on your phone. If you do a backup regularly with iTunes you will always be safe though.
  5. more class math better skills – YES math teaches basic and complex problem solving skills that are used everywhere else in life and in other Natural Sciences.
  6. technology helping education – YES all forms of technology have helped in some way to improve our children’s education, but their is a limit to how much is too much.
  7. how the technology is destroying on children’s education – It’s NOT, it’s the over testing, the standardized tests that teachers have to teach to and the government not properly funding our children’s education that is the problem.
  8. parents should be role models not athletes – YES, I wish this search was more popular and that more people felt this way. It starts early in our children’s life and we need to support and show them the proper way to do things.
  9. what is better EverNote or Diigo – NEITHER, they are different and used for different things. I use both, but Diigo is more social bookmarking, while Evernote is for clipping emails, notes, clipping actual web pages not URL’s, videos and more.
  10. Jim Valvano don’t ever give up – ABSOLUTELY

I finished with Jim Valvano because I have written about him more than once, he still is an inspiration years after his death and I have lost more than one member of my family to Cancer. “Don’t Give Up, Don’t Ever Give Up”. During that speech he also said these words that we should each ponder:

I urge all of you, all of you, to enjoy your life, the precious moments you have. To spend each day with some laughter and some thought, to get you’re emotions going. To be enthusiastic every day and as Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “Nothing great could be accomplished without enthusiasm,” to keep your dreams alive in spite of problems whatever you have. The ability to be able to work hard for your dreams to come true, to become a reality. – “ESPY Speech 1993”

