Milestones From Doing

Posted on Updated on


I write this blog, not to make money, but to write, educate and just plain old talk. Until December of 2010 I did not make an effort to be consistent or worry about whether anyone was reading what I wrote. Since then I have worked on actually writing things that are current and mean something more than my ramblings, while at the same time I started posting more frequently. I had set a goal to post 1 post per day and did keep that up for a month then found that my job, and family constraints made that impossible if I wasn’t making this a money making venture.

I have been posting about education, technology, current events and even doing technology product reviews on an average of 3.8 times a week. This consistency has lead to an increase in daily visits from 20 per day over the last 4 full years, to 62 as of the 31st of May. My best year (Jan.-Dec.) was 2008 with 9570 visits to Edutechation. That record has be retired as of this morning when I had my 9571st visit in just 5 months and 4 days. If I continue at the current pace of 62 visits a day I will more than double 2008’s total with around 22,630 visits.

These numbers are grains of sand to most blog owners like John Chow and Michael Kwan, I do not earn my living from this blog or social media as they do. But, I do consider them a lot for me, and a step forward in my goal to monetize the blog over the next two years. One of the things that has helped me on this path are the two gentlemen that I mentioned above and their book Make Money Online: Roadmap of a Dot Com Mogul.

To celebrate this milestone I have promised to take my daughter anywhere she wants to go this afternoon, just her and Daddy. I will then come home and write a post about the end of the school year and how it really isn’t.

One thought on “Milestones From Doing

    […] that you have to do something if you want to accomplish anything. You can see this in some of the blogging milestones that he has reached. For example, even though we’re not even halfway through 2011, he has […]

Comments are closed.