Do It Anyway


My boss and I were talking the other day about what others think of us and whether we should worry about what they think. Positive recognition has been something that I have always sought in my life. Moving to my current position as a roaming district level technology support person I work in an office with some extraordinary people who have taught me a lot in this area. I have learned a lot and need a lot less positive recognition, knowing myself that I always try my best, not letting something rest until I have done it to the best of my ability.

During our conversation I touched on not doing something because of what I thought someone else would think. At that point my boss got up and grabbed a framed note from his desk to show me. What follows is the text from that note, which really made an impression on me. I have to thank Joe for his wisdom, this is something that I have saved and will remember for the rest of my life.

People are often unreasonable, illogical and self centered;
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives;
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies;
Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you;
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight;
Build anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous;
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow;
Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough;
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and your God;
It was never between you and them anyway.

Inscribed on the wall of Mother Teresa’s children’s home in Calcutta. Originally written by Kent M. Keith.

One thought on “Do It Anyway

Comments are closed.