Do you make yourself valuable at work?

Posted on Updated on


Do you make yourself valuable at work?

People work for a lifetime, sometimes just one thing at one job for over 20 years. But, did they just get stuck in a rut or did they just want to do the same thing their whole life. Did they learn anything new to make themselves better?

You don’t need to spend a lot of money to make yourself better. All you need is to read, experiment and take the time ask questions to learn new things. You can make yourself better and more valuable by just caring more about how well you do your work.

I expect nothing but the best from myself. I won’t rest until I know I have done the best job I could have. In fact, if I feel I could have done it better I will search for that better way. My way isn’t always the best and I am probably not the first person who has tried. So, there are infinite possibilities to complete a task.

To that end I read a lot. I follow a lot of people that are leaders or experts in their fields on the social media platforms of today’s Internet. I save a massive amount of data to Diigo, Evernote, Google Docs and SugarSync. I also take advantage of the free cloud storage on my SkyDrive, Amazon and iCloud when it is available. I can’t remember everything, but I can save it and access it. Google, the Internet and the Cloud are my friend.

Of all these things, the most important part is the personal touch with the end user or client. All the other things are tools, the human touch, the caring for doing the best you can will make you more valuable.

99% personal + 1% tools = job well done

from Ray Ebersole – Google+ Post Feed

