First Impressions iOS5, after the install

Posted on Updated on


First Impressions iOS5, after the install.

After yesterday’s major effort to download and install iOS5 I have had a little time in my work environment to evaluate some of the new features. These thoughts are just my first impressions, not fully baked and tested opinions. Your mileage may vary.

1. The Notification Center is pretty awesome, but if you are like me you will want to turn off mail notification banners and showing them on the lock screen. The amount of email I receive makes getting banners like having an in app advertisement running across the top of my phone. Not very productive to say the least, i.e. in the first 2 hours of work this morning I had 52 emails.

2. iCloud is pretty good, but I would turn off syncing through cellular because it will eat up your data plan.

3. The Reminders feature is real good if you want a “To Do” list separate from your calendar.

4. So far only the built in weather widget works for a constant presence in the notification center. I haven’t had time to play with this, so that is my 1st random thought in that.

From a business standpoint so far so good. I will be doing a lot more testing as the week goes on and will doing a more detailed post by early next week.

from Ray Ebersole – Google+ Post Feed

https://plus.google.com/116971187524635952368/posts/bjECaNHBpu9

One thought on “First Impressions iOS5, after the install

    brokenthorn said:
    October 13, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I expect some rough edges and for them to be rounded up in future point releases.

Comments are closed.