Athletes and Celebrity Stupidity


Athletes and Celebrity Stupidity

I normally don’t Speed Link unless I am linking k12IT sites, but the last few days I have been reading about a lot of stupid things that famous people have been doing that make me roll my eyes. I have written before on Education & Technology aboutAthletes Not Being Good Role Models, but tonight I thought it was worth rehashing.

Just a few days ago NASCAR driver, and I use the term loosely, Kyle Bush intentional wrecked another driver after a caution flag had been raised for racing contact between the 2 drivers on the Texas Motor Speedway. That’s intentionally, and head on into the wall at a high rate of speed. If any of us had done this on the road we would be in jail facing charges, but all Bush gets is a weekend off.

The next thing that happened this week was the indictment of a former Penn State Assistant Coach on sex abuse charges. This one really upsets me because this person was in a position of authority, and trusted by parents to take care of their children. Instead he abused them and took away their innocence, trust and self worth. I have 2 kids and another one on the way, so you have to pardon me if I hope he he pays dearly.

Lastly, Tiger Woods former caddie Steve Williams stuck his foot in his mouth and made a racial comment/slur about Tiger. Now, Williams has always struck me as not the brightest light in the box, but this is really low and shows what type of person he really is and maybe why Tiger dropped him. To add to this, his new boss Adam Scott saw nothing wrong with what Williams said.

All three of these things strike me poorly, making me think again about why parents need to be the role models for their children. If we as parents would try our hardest, give our best effort and really understood that our children ARE OUR CHILDREN, not someone else’s to teach morals and life to, maybe we all would be a little better. Maybe we would not be wondering what is happening to the youth of today. Do you spend any time with your children?

Please don’t tell me you don’t have the time, you need to make the time. It doesn’t matter if it’s just reading them a story or helping them with a homework problem. It’s the small things they will remember. It’s just the listening when they maybe don’t want to talk. Just sitting with them, taking a walk, going to the park, or grabbing a cheeseburger with them.

If you don’t make the time for them, they are going to go look somewhere else. Do you want one of the above people being someone that your child becomes attached to, that they look up to?

One thought on “Athletes and Celebrity Stupidity

  1. Pingback: Athletes Should Not Be Role Models « Education and Technology

Comments are closed.