Thankful and Wondering

Posted on Updated on


I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving, we had a nice feast with our family’s. While relaxing afterwards I was reading, okay yes it was scientific stuff about the earth, but I was curious. In the first sentence the article used a word that I needed to look up. When I did I found that it wasn’t even a word…Read the original article: “Scientists probe Earth’s core, make mystifying discovery” – The Register

boffinry?

This is called a writer and editor using a term no one would use and that is not even in the dictionary in the form used just to make the article look technical and smart. When I come across terms like this I scratch my head. In K12IT we have a lot of acroymns, but at least they are shortened initials for something. This is a just the use of an obscure term for no reason.

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

boffinry The word you’ve entered isn’t in the dictionary. Click on a spelling suggestion below or try again using the search bar above

Now, the word boffin exists, but it is chiefly British, its origin is unknown and its first known use: 1945. To top it off, the example they use only uses the plural boffins so it brings to mind why did the author even try to use it? Furthermore did they even proof it or go to school to learn how to write?

