The Evils of Politically Correct


In todays world we have to be PC or “Politically Correct” when talking about anything in society. To me this backlash against people speaking what they feel is like turning our backs on the our constitutional rights to free speech. That is what our country was founded on, freedom, not oppression. The founding fathers and their forefathers left Europe and fought to avoid oppression, but today we have to watch everything we say or we risk the wrath of a major coalition or Senator or big name lobbyist group. We even risk losing our job because we say something outside work that damages the image of who we work for.

To me that is oppression and a violation of our first amendment right to free speech. Our world is not a better place when people are chastised because they want to express their feelings. Everyone is different and we are not all going to agree with what others have to say, but to stifle an opposing opinion because it hurts your feelings or you consider it hurtful is wrong. I may feel that your opinion is hurtful but you press your issue and voice your opinion while tramping on my rights to oppose your opinion with my own.

Our country is divided more than ever, not because of the right to freedom of speech, but the special interest pandering that our freedom of speech hurts them and we have to be Politically Correct. If you don’t like my opinion, don’t read it, listen to it or otherwise engage it. I ignore your opinion until it infringes on my freedom and invades my space.

Throughout this post I have not expressed what has brought this writing about because I know as a reasonable person that anything that I say about current issues, whether political, religious or mainstream media will be held to the PC standard. I am a reasonable person and the evils of being Politically Correct have made me sacrifice my freedom of speech rights for the freedom to not be harassed by PC monitors. That is something that our whole country should be ashamed of. There are a lot of others that feel the same way and are not expressing their opinion for fear of reprisal. 

Today I pray for our country to find the wisdom to become a place that actually follows the Constitution of the United States of America.

2 thoughts on “The Evils of Politically Correct

  1. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesdays: A Politically Correct New York State of Mind « Beyond the Rhetoric

Comments are closed.