All About Caring

Posted on Updated on


I read a lot as time permits. Time does not permit me to write or comment much anymore though. After tonight’s reading and events a few weeks ago I decided to take a few minutes to share.

There are a zillion books, self help magazine articles and the like on how to be a better manager. I have read a few myself and until tonight had not found too much that worked consistently. A lot of things work, but they wore out and fell on deaf ears. Kind of like the sports coach that gets fired because the players tuned out his message. On the other hand, what I read tonight is just plain common sense.

It’s almost the Golden Rule, show your people you care about them and they will start to care about what you say. Until they feel you care they will just nod and smile, then go back to doing it the way they have been. If I want someone to follow me, I need to instill the confidence that I have their back. If I don’t then I will have to work harder, check up more and get less accomplished.

Think about it, don’t you feel the same way about your boss? Even if you are a manager, you have a manager above you. The manager above the President? That would be us and we are also the people below him too. Vicious circle, he needs us to care about him to get reelected and we need him to care about us so that we have a better way of life.

On Fathers Day I will take this one step further. Our children need to know we care about them, that we love them, that we will always be there for them. It doesn’t take much, just a hug or a smile. Just taking the time to listen to them or play Rescue Hero’s.

It’s all about caring.

