Unimportance

Posted on Updated on


Tao_Te_ChingI’ve been thinking recently about my job, what I do and what I want to do. One thing that changed in the last year with my new/old position is that what I was doing changed. From projects and helping in schools when a tech was out, to working with instructional LMS, projects for the district, system administration of the LMS and of the district projects. I am studying for my MCSE to be completed by Thanksgiving.

It is a lot of cool things , but what this position has done is give me the opportunity to actually show what I could do. The responsibility that I could accept and get the job done. It has led to new found respect from others within the department and a feeling within myself of confidence that I previously lacked. I had to seek out the pat on the back in the past, whereas I now know that what I do is quality work that is appreciated.

That leads me to a position I am not used to, being wanted. While struggling with some thoughts, I decided to spend part of a day to pick up the “Tao Te Ching” and read it again. Chapter 66 is called Unimportance, it struck a chord that made everything come into sight clear as a mountain stream.

All the world says,
“I am important;
I am separate from all the world.
I am important because I am separate,
Were I the same, I could never be important.”

Yet here are three treasures
That I cherish and commend to you:
The first is compassion,
By which one finds courage.
The second is restraint,
By which one finds strength.
And the third is unimportance,
By which one finds influence.

Those who are fearless, but without compassion,
Powerful, but without restraint,
Or influential, yet important,
Cannot endure.

