Can’t Control It All


controlAs a Systems Administrator I am always working on applications and different projects that affect many different systems and end users. I am always focused on getting the job done on time and for the students who depend on what I do for their education. Sometimes my plans or the set goals for a project depend on other people.

It’s at that time that I have just recently found that I can’t control the outcome. Even though the project is mine as the technology lead, I can’t do it all and I cannot always make decisions that need to be made, happen when I want them to happen. This has led to a change in my thought process on how I am going to approach projects in the future. What am I going to do?

I’m going to do my part, lead to where I can then pass on the direction to the other parts of the project that I cannot control. When those parts are complete I will take the project back up to completion. I can’t be the person always prodding or emailing that this or that needs to be done.

